( – At the North Dakota State Water Commission (SWC) meeting chaired by Governor Doug Burgum Monday, the SWC approved $47.7 million in cost-share requests. The SWC voted to approve funding for several flood mitigation, general water, and municipal, regional and rural water supply projects, including large construction contracts related to the Northwest Area Water Supply (NAWS) project.

The SWC supports local sponsors in development of sustainable water-related projects in North Dakota through the Department of Water Resources’ (DWR) Cost-Share Program. The primary purpose of DWR’s Cost-Share Program is to assist local project sponsors with financial support of water development projects – making them more affordable to local constituents.

“The State Water Commission continues to fund critical infrastructure to meet our state’s flood protection and water supply needs,” Burgum said. “The cost-share requests approved today will benefit citizens across our state, including providing north-central and northwest North Dakota with infrastructure to support the development and growth of healthy, vibrant communities that can attract and retain a 21st century workforce.”

The NAWS construction-related approvals will support modifications at the Snake Creek Pumping Plant, which will pump raw water from Lake Sakakawea to the currently under construction Biota Water Treatment Plant near Max – where water will be treated before being pumped again to the treatment plant in Minot. Funding was also approved to advance the 3-million-gallon Bottineau Reservoir and Pump Station. The SWC approved $23.32 million in cost-share for the Snake Creek Pumping Plant project and $7.4 million in federal, municipal, rural and industrial water supply program funds for the Bottineau Reservoir and Pump Station. NAWS will one day provide water service to 81,000 North Dakotans in northcentral North Dakota.

“We are excited for the NAWS project to continue moving forward,” said Andrea Travnicek, DWR Director. “The improvements to the Snake Creek Pumping Plant and the new Bottineau Reservoir and Pump Station will help solve long-standing water supply and poor water quality problems in northern North Dakota by delivering high-quality Missouri River water to the region.”

The 10-member SWC consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring and eight members appointed by the governor to serve six-year terms.